hi

There have not been major developments since last week in terms of my education, but I have decided to get back into gaming while I have some freetime. Today's post topic is on queer games.

Last week, I talked about making an amateurish game under the Luna V3 name about being trans. I mainly say amateurish as I am using Orteil's Idle Game Maker and not something more suited for me like Twine. It isn't meant to be professional, it is just a side thing for myself.

About that, having the small community that it has, there is a large lack of queer games or even story based games. The former makes sense. I think all of the queer developers are over using Twine or something more tailored for stories. Heck, some of the more prominent IGM creators happen to use multiple engines. The engine (IGM) itself isn't even made for story-focused content. Like yeah, it is possible (there's an entire story category on a site for igm games), but a majority only focus on what it is made for, being idle games.

I should mention that the reason why I choose IGM was because I didn't particularly wanted far outreach potential for my Luna V3 stuff just yet. IGM doesn't have a large community, let alone one that is explictly queer (or queerphobic for that matter), so it works well enough for my intentions.

On that note, queer games outside of my own are not really something I actively look for. Like, I just get interested in a game sometimes because of it (Guilty Gear Strive is a personal example), but usually not. I usually focus on the game itself and not whatever queer content happens to be in it (unless it is the main focus). I didn't even know Last of Us and Horizon (the playstation series) happen to be queer until I looked it for the former (also played Left Behind) and the latter was included in a pride collection.

Queer games fill up a large part of digital collection, mainly due to freebies or cheaper titles on itch/steam/google play, but for my physical collection only around 4 games have some rep or atleast built itself to accommodate for queer people. Perhaps this is just because the games I enjoy happen to not be ones that would include it (with good intent). I would link a list, but it is attached to my main so I will not do that.

Anyway, that has been today's post. Luna V3 name becomes truer now that I will be making software. (?)